Marriage License and Wedding Permits
NOTICE: Marriage Certificate Process
Effective August 29, 2019, the process for entering into a legal marriage in Alabama changes, pursuant to Ala. Act 2019-340. Under the new law, persons wishing to become married are no longer required to file an application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no longer issue marriage licenses. Furthermore, all Alabama probate courts will now be required to record marriage certificates. The Alabama Marriage Certificate form represents a contractual agreement between the parties to the marriage, completed by both parties and delivered to the probate court for recording. Once properly completed and recorded, the marriage is valid. A wedding ceremony may be performed for the parties, but solemnization is no longer required for a recognized marriage in Alabama.
Alabama Marriage Certificate Forms
Information, forms and instructions are available on the Alabama Department of Public Health’s website at http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html.
For ease of reference, links to the instructions are listed below:
For Adults – Instructions for Completing and Filing Alabama Marriage Certificate
For Minors – Instructions for Completing and Filing the Alabama Marriage Certificate [16-17 years of age]
Please note: The form should be printed on 8.5 x 11 inch white, front side only, as actual size, not “fit to page” or another modified size.
After the form is completed and notarized, the parties will submit the form and $73.00 filing fee (either in person, by mail, or third party) within 30 calendar days to the Probate Office in Bay Minette (only) for recording. The 30 day period for recording the document in Probate Court commences when the last party executes the document. Form must be legible and all requested information must be provided. Incomplete forms or forms containing white-out or other corrective marks will not be accepted. It is the responsibility of the parties to ensure the accuracy of the information provided. The fee is $73.00 which includes one certified copy. You may mail your certificate and payment (money order or cashier’s check made payable to Judge of Probate) to the address below. Please include a return address. No business or personal checks accepted. If you submit the form in person or by third party, there are additional payment options of cash or credit card (service fee applies).
Bride and groom must obtain a Florida Marriage License in the State of Florida. The fee is paid to the clerk of court: The cost is normally $93.50. Every marriage license is issued by a county court judge or clerk of the circuit court under his or her hand and seal. Marriage licenses are issued by counties, and you can apply for your license at any county clerk's office. Florida Residents: Bride and groom must go to clerk of court in State of Florida to obtain your marriage license. Bride and groom must have a valid photo identification such as a driver’s license, state identification card, government or military identification card, or a passport.
A Social Security number is required to obtain a marriage license. If either party was previously married and divorced, the date of the divorce will be required. If the date of the divorce was within the 30 days prior to the new application for a marriage license, a certified copy of the recorded final order will be required. There is a 3-day waiting period for Florida residents, we offer an online marriage premarital course to avoid the marriage waiting period. Out-of-State Residents / US Citizens: If you are an out-of-state resident you may obtain your Florida Marriage License at any clerk of court in the State of Florida. Bride and groom must be together. Bride and groom must have valid photo identification such as a driver’s license, state identification card, government or military identification card, or a passport. There is no waiting period for out-of-state residents.
No blood test required.
If either party was previously married and divorced, the date of the divorce will be required. If the date of the divorce was within the 30 days prior to the new application for a marriage license, a certified copy of the recorded final order will be required.
Persons authorized to perform marriages, all regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, including retired judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law.
You may obtain your Florida Marriage License by using our Florida Marriage License By Mail service. You may also obtain your Florida Marriage License at any clerk of court in the State of Florida. Bride and groom must have a valid photo passport. If either party is from a foreign country and not a U.S. citizen, alien registration documentation, or other proof which contains an alien registration number is acceptable to obtain a marriage license.
If either party was previously married and divorced, the date of the divorce will be required. If the date of the divorce was within the 30 days prior to the new application for a marriage license, a certified copy of the recorded final order will be required. There is no waiting period for international residents. Most international counties require the bride and groom register the license at the local registrar office or government agency, please check with your embassy / consulate or appropriate office.
As a rule, weddings are not allowed on the Gulf Shores public beaches from Spring Break through Labor Day weekend, especially if a large group is expected. No chairs, gazebos, arches, etc. are allowed to be placed on the public beaches. A permit is required for anyone having their wedding at one of Gulf State Park's public beach access points. We ask that permits be purchased at least one week in advance when possible. For private beach locations (in front of condos, hotels, businesses, etc), please contact the property owner for individual permit requirements.
You do need to make your guests aware, however, that they cannot park on the road right-of-ways. Gulf State Park, located in Gulf Shores, has a pavilion that is perfect for family and group outings, reunions, beach parties and sunset weddings. Rental is available 7 days a week, except major holiday weekends during the summer.
For more information on pavilion rentals or having a wedding on Gulf State Park beaches (permit required), call 251-968-7296 or 968-7245 Wednesday - Sunday.
Contact the City Clerk's office at 251-968-1124 for more information from the City of Gulf Shores.
Anyone seeking a special events permit must complete and file a Special Events Application. An application may be completed and emailed online, printed out and mailed/faxed, or picked up at anytime during regular business hours from Orange Beach City Hall. Mobile device users will need to print out to complete.
Applications may be filed anytime during regular business hours with the City of Orange Beach beginning 12 months prior to the date of the event, but no later than 30 calendar days preceding the date of the proposed event.
If you are planning on holding your event on a public beach, you will first need to contact the Gulf State Park: 251.948.7275
Okaloosa County, FL
Destin & Fort Walton Beach: If you are planning a wedding at James Lee Park, be advised that events such as weddings are limited to one at a time. Please call ahead for availability of time slots and to be put on the calendar. For 50 people and under, no permit is required.
30A & Santa Rosa Beach. Then click on Departments, Under Planning & Departments, click on Beach Event Permits, then click on Special Events. Fill the form online; it costs $50 and is good for 99 people or fewer. If you have more than 100 people, then you need to contact the local sheriff and have a deputy on site. Contact info for the permit is Derrick with Code Enforcement at 850-622-0000
No permit required. However, if you are having more than 35 people, then you need to visit www.sria-fla.com, click on Forms, Under Events, click on Large Gathering of 35 people or more. Fee is $25.
Santa Rosa County
-$50.00 for less than 10 people
-$150.00 for 10 to 30 people
-$250.00 for 31 to 50 people
-$500.00 for 51 to 75 people
-$1,000.00 for 76+ people
Port Saint Joe, Cape San Blast: No Permit Required
No Permit Required, 90% of the beach is a Public Beach (free)
St. George Island: No Permit Required. You can’t setup in front of a beach house on St. George Island if you didn’t rent the house.